VCC curlers second at BC Mixed

Three VCC curlers were on a team out of Richmond CC that finished second at the BC Mixed Curling Championship in Parksville, Mar. 2-5. Jaime McLaren, Heather Hansen and Chris Chute teamed up with Richmond skip Aaron Watson, losing the championship final to three-time former BC mixed champion Tom Buchy from Kimberley.

The Andrew Forrest team from VCC (Becky Abbot, Dave Marchant and Alison DenToom) went 1-3 in the triple knockout event.

Coyne and Graham win Doubles Bonspiel

Graham and Cracker

VCC curlers Craig Coyne and Kayla Graham won the A event in the Doubles Bonspiel on Saturday, Feb. 18, beating VCC juniors Ardis Mellor-Laing and Marcus Dee in the final. For all the results go to the Doubles Bonspiel page.

VCC juniors win Optimist League

Optimist team

Congrats to VCC curlers for winning the top Division 1 league title in the Optimist Junior Interclub Curling League this season. Front row left to right are Danyelle Bernier, Ardis Mellor-Lang, Daniel Dabiri and Marcus Dee, holding another banner for the VCC rink. Also in the picture is VCC coach Luke Opacic, who was filling in for Brad Burton.

Switzer wins Harry Jerome Comeback Award

Keith Switzer VCC curler Keith Switzer has won the Harry Jerome Comeback Award from Sport BC for winning a BC masters championship after a near-fatal heart attack.

Read the Curl BC story

VCC curlers at belairdirect BC Men's Championship

The belairdirect BC Men's Curling Championship was in Abbotsford Feb. 8-12 with VCC curlers on two of the 12 teams. Jeff Guignard skipped a full team of VCC curlers with third Chris Faa, second Jeff Sargeant and lead Nick Kuit. Richard Brower and Jan Bos threw fourth and third rocks respectively on the Mike Moss team. The John Morris team won the event, defeating Dean Joanisse in the final. Click on the link above for all the results and click here to view Shaw TV's coverage of the weekend playoff games.

PRCL teams at Gay Nationals, Feb. 10-12

Two Pacific Rim Curling League teams from VCC were at the Canadian Gay Curling Championships in Montreal, Feb. 10-12. The Jack Holmes team (Mark Trowell, Jeff Berg and Gerald Gunn) and the Scott Robertson team (Greg Ohashi, Gerhard Maynard, Michael Anhorn and Kevin Mintenko) were trying to continue a streak in which PRCL teams have won the championship six of the past 11 years and the last five years in a row. The results can be found by clicking here.

VCC coach works with BC wheelchair champs

Brad with wheelies

Congrats to VCC curler and coach Brad Burton on being part of the BC wheelchair championship winning team this past weekend (Jan. 27-30) at Richmond. Brad coached the Gerry Austgarden team that now heads to the Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship in Boucherville, Quebec, April 24-30. With Brad in the photo, left to right, are lead Janice Ing, second Bob Macdonald, third Darryl Neighbour and skip Berry Austgarden. For details on the BC Wheelchair Curling Championship go to

VCC curlers in BC mixed doubles, Feb. 2-5

The BC Mixed Doubles Curling Championship in Kelowna, Thursday, Feb. 2 to Sunday, Feb. 5, had 28 teams entered, including four teams of VCC curlers: Shelly Birston/Shawn Courtorielle, Danyelle Bernier/Daniel Dabiri, Andrew Forrest/Becky Abbot and Stephen Strathdee/Michelle MacLeod. The winners were Jeff Richard and Sarah Wark. For event details and coverage go to

Watson at Canadian Masters in Guelph

Watson throwing

VCC curler Ken Watson started with four straight wins as the skip of team BC at the Canadian Masters Curling Championships in Guelph, Ontario from April 2-9, but ended up finishing with a 5-5 record, out of the playoffs. Click on the link for online coverage, including live streaming.

Watson won the BC masters title Mar. 7-12 in Cranbrook. Info on that event is at

VCC Brazilians challenged USA for a spot in world championships

Four VCC curlers were in Duluth, Minnesota Jan. 27-29 as part of the Brazilian men's and women's teams challenging the USA for spots in the 2017 world curling championships. Isis Oliveira, Alessandra Barros and Anne Shibuya Gervan curl on the Brazilian women's team skipped by Aline Goncalves from Whitehorse, and VCC ice tech Marcio Cerquinho is third for the Brazilian men's team skipped by Marcelo Mello of Sherbrooke, Quebec. 

Syndicate content